Saturday, December 7, 2013

Review: All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

Publication Date: August 1st 2013
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Pages: 362 
Series: All Our Yesterdays #1
Source: Purchased
A brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time - All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn't happened yet.

Em and Finn have a shared past, but no future unless they can find a way out. The present is torture - being kept apart, overhearing each other's anguish as the Doctor relentlessly seeks answers. There's no way back from here, to what they used to be, the world they used to know. Then Em finds a note in her cell which changes everything. It's from her future self and contains some simple but very clear instructions. Em must travel back in time to avert a tragedy that's about to unfold. Worse, she has to pursue and kill the boy she loves to change the future.

I love time travel and to put it together with "What If" situation is what I call "freaking awesome." I don't really know why but this kind of book always makes me wonder about "what would happen if I could travel back in time and changing something in the past, does it always mean that the future will be better?"

For me, the concept of time travel is always confusing and not to mention the paradox thing that comes with it. But you don't have to worry because this book made it really easy to understand even though the ending took me awhile to get it (and with the help of a friend). All Our Yesterdays is told from two perspectives (Em and Marina) so you will get the whole picture of what happens and why it happens as the story goes on. The characters are so complex and I loved to see how they've changed, how they've grown up from the young, innocent, carefree teens. Finn is my most favorite character. I liked his younger self and also his older self. About James, the younger James is so innocent. It's just sad that no one can see that the younger James needs help (he's not emotional stable). I think thing would be different if the younger James received the help. Reading this book is like putting the puzzle together, you have to get to the end to get the whole meaning. So be patient if sometimes you get lost or confused.

It's fast paced and full of action. All Our Yesterday will make you wonder about the fine line between good and evil. Sometimes those two can live side by side since we all capable of doing anything. I mean, I can't say the mission that Em and Finn carry (to kill the boy to help the future) is entirely a good thing. Anyway read this book guy even time travel is not your thing. This book is really amazing and the ending is perfect (sad, yes but I don't see there can be any other way) and I can't wait to read the next book =D

No comments :

I LOVE to hear from you so don't be shy and speak your mind =)

You might also like:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...